Wars and Treaties

War Year Treaty Gov General Battles et al
Anglo Marathas
First 1775-82 Began: Treaty of Surat

End: Treaty of Salbai

Warren Hastings Battle of Wadgaon
Second 1803-05 Began: treaty of Bassein Lord Wellesley Battle of Assaye
Third 1816-19 Treaty of Gwalior Marquess  of Hastings Battle of Pindari

End of Peshwa rule

Anglo French
First 1746-48 Treaty of Aix-la-Chepelle Reason: Austrian succession in Europe 1746: Battle of Adyar/San Thome
Second 1749-54 War of succession between Nasir Jung (English) and Muzaffar Jung (French) after death of Nizam 1749: Battle of Ambur


Rise of Robert Clive

Third 1758-63 Treaty of Paris Reason: 7 years war in Europe 1760: Battle of Wandiwash (French defeat)
Anglo Mysore
First 1766-69
Second 1780-1784 Treaty of Mangalore Warren Hastings After death of Hyder Ali in 1782 Tipu led the war
Third 1789-92 Treaty of Seringapatnam Cornwallis Defeat of Tipu
Fourth 1799 Wellesley Battle of Seringapatnam. Death of Tipu.
Anglo Sikh War
First 1845-46 Treaty of Lahore Hardinge
Second 1848-49 Dalhousie Final Subjugation of the Sikhs

1806 – Treaty of Raighat – Peace with Holkars





Poet/Writer Language Work
Kanchan Nambiar Malayalam
Tayaumanavar Tamil (Sittar poet)
Dayaram Gujarati
Warris Shah Punjabi Heer Ranjha
Shah Abdul Latif Sindhi Risalo
Sachal, Siami Sindhi


Education in India


1781 – Calcutta Madarsah by Hastings

1791 – Sanskrit College, Varanasi: Jonathan Duncan

1813 – Charter Act directed the Company to spend a sum of Rs. 1 lakh on education <was made available in 1823>

1817 – Hindu College by David Hare & RM Roy; 1825 – Vedanta College, RM Roy

1835 – Macaulay’s minute

1854 – Wood’s Dispatch: asked the govt to assume the responsibility for the education of the masses



Gopal Hari Deshmukh was a religious reformer in Western India and was popularly known as ‘Lokahitwadi’

Separate electorates were introduced  by the Morley Minto Reforms of 1909

Dyarchy was introduced by the Montford reforms of 1919

Timeline of Satyagraha: Champaran (1917) – Ahmedabad Mill Strike (1918) – Kheda (1918)

1927 – Butler commission to review the centre state relations

1934 – Congress Socialist Party: Acharya Narendra Dev and JP

1936 – All India Kisan Sabha: Swami Sahajanand Saraswati



Civilspreparation is a dedicated team involved in revolutionizing the education through Digital India Campaign. We provide the free notes for Civil Services (IAS) Exam and develop the true potential of Civil Services (IAS) Aspirants through regular tests for Civil Services (IAS) Prelims and Civil Services (IAS) Mains examination. Detail strategy for Civil Services (IAS) Prelims and Civil Services (IAS) Mains examination are shared by the Civil Services (IAS) Toppers. For any doubt related to Civil Services (IAS) ie Civil Services (IAS) Prelims or Civil Services (IAS) Mains examination Contact Us You could Join any of the following programs by Civil Services (IAS) notes for integrated Civil Services (IAS) Prelims and Civil Services (IAS) Mains Program:-
  1. CrackCivil Services (IAS)2017 Prelims Program:- 10 Civil Services (IAS) Prelims Mock Tests and Comprehensive Civil Services (IAS) Prelims Notes
  2. CrackCivil Services (IAS)2016 Mains Program :- 16 Civil Services (IAS) Mains Mock Tests and Complete Civil Services (IAS) Mains Notes
  3. CrackCivil Services (IAS)2016 Video Lecture Program:- Complete video lectures for Civil Services (IAS) Prelims and Mains Exam
  4. CrackIFos2016 Mains Test series and Notes Program